Skip to Content
Technical Excellence in Government Contracts
and Construction Matters Since 1893.
Oles Morrison

Our role as legal counsel is to help clients to obtain favorable and final resolutions of their disputes in a prompt and cost-effective manner. Our team of experienced litigators guide clients through mediation, arbitration, and complex litigation using creative solutions while maintaining focus on client objectives.

We understand the high costs of trials in commercial disputes so we encourage clients to adopt policies and strategies that will avoid litigation when possible and expedite it when unavoidable. When alternative dispute resolution mechanisms are not available, our trial lawyers bring extensive experience in both bench and jury trials. We also place a high value on maintaining a positive professional role in the legal profession, and our partners have taken leading roles in both national and international professional associations.

Clients look to us for pragmatic solutions, assistance in mitigating litigation costs and a proven track record of success. We strive to meet these expectations while also keeping up with evolving technologies that govern the assembly, organization, and discovery of electronic documents that have become standard on complex commercial transactions. Our most senior attorneys have decades of experience navigating through complex commercial litigation matters and place a high value on collaboration with our client’s in-house attorneys in order to optimize our legal efforts and maximize overall cost efficiency.

Some examples of commonly litigated transactions include:

  • Uniform Commercial Code (UCC): Drawing on our broad experience in all aspects of the UCC, we help our clients find the right course of action to take when a dispute arises under the UCC.
  • Licensing and distribution agreements: We frequently litigate licensing and distribution matters under state and federal law in a number of state and federal jurisdictions on behalf of our clients. This includes handling all issues that arise in the distributor/dealer relationship including, expansion, renewal and termination.
  • Purchase and sale agreements: Purchasing or selling a business or property is a major transaction that can cause disputes and disagreements. Our team is experienced at handling these fact-intensive purchase and sale agreement cases in an efficient manner to obtain the most favorable outcome on behalf of our clients.
  • Partnership and shareholder disputes: Whether it is a breach of shareholder fiduciary duty, conflict of interest, dissolution dispute, violation of a shareholder agreement, financial mismanagement or trade secret infringement, partnership and shareholder disputes can be costly and detrimental to the future of an organization. Our team is equipped to represent your interests in partnership and shareholder disputes in court while keeping your business and financial concerns top of mind.
  • Fraud: We represent clients ranging from small businesses to large corporations and their insurers on fraud in business transactions and contracts and fraudulent practices, such as breach of contract, bribery and corruption, fraudulent concealment, intentional misrepresentation and embezzlement.
  • Business torts: Our team handles all the issues that typically arise from commercial disputes, including tortious interference, unfair competition and commercial defamation. We are known for our attention to detail, courtroom prowess and track-record of success obtaining favorable verdicts in business tort litigation on behalf of our clients.

Attorneys

Sam E. Baker, Jr.
Sam E. Baker, Jr.

Sam E. Baker, Jr.

Washington Alaska P: 206.467.7467  | F: 206.682.6234 baker@oles.com
Bryce D. Carroll
Bryce D. Carroll

Bryce D. Carroll

California P: 510.285.9116  | F: 510.903.2015 carroll@oles.com
Meghan A. Douris
Meghan A. Douris

Meghan A. Douris

Washington P: 206.467.7452  | F: 206.682.6234 douris@oles.com
Eric P. Forner
Eric P. Forner

Eric P. Forner

Washington P: 206.467.7463  | F: 206.682.6234 forner@oles.com
Michael C. Geraghty
Michael C. Geraghty

Michael C. Geraghty

Alaska P: 907.258.0712  | F: 907.258.5519 geraghty@oles.com
Ryan M. Gilchrist
Ryan M. Gilchrist

Ryan M. Gilchrist

Washington P: 206.467.7479  | F: 206.682.6234 gilchrist@oles.com
John F. Kazanovicz II
John F. Kazanovicz II

John F. Kazanovicz II

California P: 510.903.2007  | F: 510.903.2015 Kazanovicz@oles.com
Thomas R. Krider
Thomas R. Krider

Thomas R. Krider

Washington P: 206.467.7493  | F: 206.682.6234 krider@oles.com
Barat M. LaPorte
Barat M. LaPorte

Barat M. LaPorte

Alaska P: 907.258.0715  | F: 907.258.5519 laporte@oles.com
Robert L. Leslie
Robert L. Leslie

Robert L. Leslie

California P: 510.903.2001  | F: 510.903.2015 leslie@oles.com
Liam K. Malone
Liam K. Malone

Liam K. Malone

California P: 510.903.2013  | F: 510.903.2015 malone@oles.com
James F. Nagle
James F. Nagle

James F. Nagle

Washington P: 206.623.3427  | F: 206.682.6234 nagle@oles.com
Douglas S. Oles
Douglas S. Oles

Douglas S. Oles

Washington Alaska P: 206.623.3427  | F: 206.682.6234 oles@oles.com
Erich C. Potter
Erich C. Potter

Erich C. Potter

Washington P: 206.667.0666  | F: 206.682.6234 potter@oles.com
Bradley L. Powell
Bradley L. Powell

Bradley L. Powell

Washington P: 206.623.3427  | F: 206.682.6234 powell@oles.com
Melia A. Preedy
Melia A. Preedy

Melia A. Preedy

Washington P: 206.667.0650  | F: 206.682.6234 preedy@oles.com
Daniel P. Radthorne
Daniel P. Radthorne

Daniel P. Radthorne

Washington P: 206.667.0662  | F: 206.682.6234 radthorne@oles.com
Peter N. Ralston
Peter N. Ralston

Peter N. Ralston

Washington Alaska P: 206.623.3427  | F: 206.682.6234 ralston@oles.com
J. Craig Rusk
J. Craig Rusk

J. Craig Rusk

Washington Alaska P: 206.467.7475  | F: 206.682.6234 rusk@oles.com
Michael J. Schmidt
Michael J. Schmidt

Michael J. Schmidt

Washington P: 206.467.7492  | F: 206.682.6234 schmidt@oles.com
Ashley J. Sherwood
Ashley J. Sherwood

Ashley J. Sherwood

Washington P: 206.467.7490  | F: 206.682.6234 sherwood@oles.com
Rebecca D. Takacs
Rebecca D. Takacs

Rebecca D. Takacs

California P: 510.903.2006  | F: 510.903.2015 takacs@oles.com
Jason R. Wandler
Jason R. Wandler

Jason R. Wandler

Washington P: 206.467.7459  | F: 206.682.6234 wandler@oles.com
David C. Weaver
David C. Weaver

David C. Weaver

Washington P: 206.667.0660  | F: 206.682.6234 weaver@oles.com
Deborah J. Wilson
Deborah J. Wilson

Deborah J. Wilson

California P: 510.285.9115  | F: 510.903.2015 wilson@oles.com
David Y. Yang
David Y. Yang

David Y. Yang

Washington P: 206.667.0656  | F: 206.682.6234 yang@oles.com

Representative Matters

Commercial Litigation

Successfully defended plumbing contractor against trademark infringement suit. We obtained complete summary judgment in favor of our client, and then successfully defended that judgment on appeal.

Represented the members of a successful rock band in litigation over responsibility for injuries to those attending a large concert. The issues related to which party had contractual responsibility for safety of attendees and crowd control and behavior in the mosh pit as well as contractual indemnity questions.

News